Cover Letter

To Whom It May Concern,

Welcome. My name is Kawaun L. Harvey and this is my personal online portfolio. Here you will be able to view content that I have published as well as get a glimpse into my professional life.

I am first semester sophomore at The Pennsylvania State University working towards my Bachelor of Arts degree in Journalism and Integrative Arts with a concentration in Broadcast Journalism and a Minor of Arts in Theatre Arts.

I am a strong-willed and independent person with a robust passion for journalism. I am willing to grow, learn and develop my skills in journalism and writing, ultimately becoming a novelist. My strong suits are (1) my ability to quickly and proficiently organize and prioritize, (2) my everlasting desire to learn and absorb information pertaining to a wide area of subjects, (3) my resourcefulness allows for creative and efficient ways for task to be completed, and (4) my creative and irrepressible imagination allows me to freely take anything that I write to new heights.

My actions over the past years have displayed that I should be a valuable asset to any organization. For three (3) years I have been working with ProjectSET, an organization dedicated to spreading awareness about media and its societal effects, and I have learned a great deal of knowledge about the media while corresponding with networks such as MTV, VH1, BET, Fox, etc.

As a writer, I manage and am the webmaster for an online media blog where I create awareness to readers about modern music and television as well as current issues in society. I am also a staff writer for a collegiate newspaper, the Altoona Collegiate Review where I use my journalistic skill to generate stories on local and national events ranging from town residents against student housing to covering the 2010 Flight 93 memorial service.

I have an emergent familiarity of WordPress, HTML, CSS, Microsoft Office, Adobe Creative Suite, and other word processing software’s with an average typing speed of roughly 40 wpm. My growing knowledge of computer technology has allowed me to nearly master operating systems such as Windows XP, Windows Vista, Windows 7, and Mac OSX, and mobile phone operating systems such as iOS, WebOS, Droid, etc.

If you have any questions, comments, or concerns please contact me at klh5374@psu.edu or visit my website at https://kawaunharvey.wordpress.com. Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely,
Kawaun Harvey

